Monthly Archives: July 2012

Webinar – RNA-Sequencing Data Analysis

RNA-Sequencing Data Analysis – A Clinical Research Perspective   You are invited to join us for a webinar on, “RNA-Sequencing Data Analysis – A Clinical Research Perspective.” Date: Wednesday, July 18, 2012 Time: 1 p.m. Eastern, 10 a.m. Pacific, 7 p.m. Central Europe Duration: ...

Read More »

Xpression – an integrated RNA-seq analysis pipeline

Xpression automatically processes quality filtering, mapping, expression profiling, and visualization from short read-length NGS reads in nucleotide-space (e.g., Illumina). It currently uses BWA to map reads, which allows a specified number of mismatches between read and reference genome. The expression ...

Read More »

RNA-seq analysis of the C. briggsae transcriptome

Curation of a high-quality gene set is the critical first step in genome research, enabling subsequent analyses such as ortholog assignment, cis-regulatory element finding, and synteny detection. Now, researchers from Simon Fraser University, Canada have reannotated the genome of Caenorhabditis ...

Read More »

NGS & RNA-Seq Form Dynamic Duo

from Genetic Engineering News Next-generation sequencing (NGS) allows the interrogation of genomes and transcriptomes at unparalleled resolution. NGS is becoming a powerful tool to identify cancer mutations that will eventually be translated to the clinic. Further, second-generation RNA-Seq technology permits ...

Read More »

RNA-Seq Blog – Poll Results

We asked:  microRNA-Seq reveals isoforms of mature microRNAs not discernable with microarray. Are these isoforms truly a result of alt processing during biogenesis or are they merely artefacts of library prep? Total Voters: 89 True Isoforms (61%, 54 Votes) Library ...

Read More »