Upcoming Webinar – Performance assessment of RNA sequencing and expression arrays for transcriptome analysis in cancer research

DATE: March 6, 2018
TIME: 08:00am PST, 11:00am EST, 5:00pm CET

RNA sequencing and expression arrays are transcriptomics techniques used to quantify transcribed genes and their isoforms. The first part of the talk will compare RNA-seq and array performance for the analysis of differences between normal lung epithelium tissue and squamous cell carcinoma lung tumors. High concordance for protein-coding gene expression was observed between the platforms. However, much more discrepant results were obtained for the detection of less abundant transcripts, including long non-coding RNAs and alternatively spliced variants. The second part of the talk will describe the method that can help combine results from different platforms and analyze data generated from bulk heterogeneous samples, called independent component analysis.

In this webinar, the speaker will:

  • Describe the results of platform comparison for protein-coding and long non-coding genes
  • Explain the biases observed in RNA-seq and expression array platforms
  • Share insights on how deconvolution of transcriptomics data followed by machine learning can improve tumor classification


Petr Nazarov, PhD

Research Scientist, Bioinformatics and Modelling Group, Proteome and Genome Research Unit, Department of Oncology, Luxembourg Institute of Health

(find out more…)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.